Battery Bank Reverse Engineering

projectImage

In this post, I decided to crack open one of my USB battery packs to see if I could add a telemetry interface. Now it’s time to actually add that interface.

SAFETY

Disassembling battery packs can be moderately dangerous. I’m an expert, so don’t attempt to disassemble any batteries of your own unless you have experience doing so.

GOALS

I wanted to know the following:

Battery Voltage

Potentially multiple voltages depending on how many cells are in series.

Charging current

Output current

BATTERY CELLS

Opening up the battery pack, the first thing I wanted to inspect were the battery cells. There are four cells it seems. Peeling back the squishy foam gently reveals that they are LG MH1 18650 cells.

The data sheet lists these official specifications:

Nominal capacity: 3200 mAh

Minimum capacity: 3100 mAh

Nominal Voltage: 3.63V

Standard Charge: Constant current 0.5C (1550mA), Constant voltage 4.2V, End current(Cut off) 50mA

Max. Charge Voltage: 4.2 ± 0.05V

Max. Charge Current: 1.0 C (3100mA)

Standard Discharge: Constant current 0.2C (620mA), End voltage(Cut off) 2.5V

Max. Discharge Current: 10A

Weight Approx.: 49.0 g

Cycle life: 500 (0.5C charge and discharge)

Operating Temperature: Charge 0 ~ 45°C, Discharge -20 ~ 60°C

Storage Temperature: 1 month -20 ~ 60°C, 3 month -20 ~ 45°C, 1 year -20 ~ 20°C

View fullsize

IMG_9946.jpg

I couldn’t get a good picture, but the cells are all placed in the same orientation and connected together via two nickel strips that are spot welded to each cell on the positive and negative side. This means that the cells are all connected in parallel.

The cells have a maximum voltage of 4.2V, so this means that the control electronics must be boosting the voltage to the 5V output.

IMG_9944.jpg

Now I moved onto the control board. There are actually two boards stacked on top of each other. You can see the bottom one have the USB ports soldered to it below.

View fullsize