icon

DIY Sensitive STM32 Pulse Indiction Metal Detector (Arduino IDE)

0 26795 Medium

This time I will show you how to make a sensitive Pulse Induction metal detector which is based on ARM STM32 microcontroller, which has significantly better features than Arduino and is also cheaper. It can detect metal coih at distance of 30cm, and big metal object at distance of more than 80 cm.

The positive thing is that you can install an Arduino bootloader on it, after that you can use it as a regular Arduino. This is my first project with this microcontroller and the experiences are very positive, and actually after flashing the bootloader there is no difference between STM and Arduino.

This time I will focus more on the project itself, and for how to install bootloader and sketch on STM32 you can find many tutorials and instructions, *** and I specifically used the tutorial from:
      https://www.instructables.com/Using-a-STM32-Like-an-Arduino-Tutorial-STM32F103C8/
The project is taken from the cxem.net site, in that there is a small error in the given schematic, and instead of the B9 pin, B8 should be used. I have corrected that in the Schemаtic diagram given below. Also, the original project uses STM32F103C8, but the metal detector works quite regularly with STM32F103C6, which is a cheap clone version of the original.

So the device is relatively simple to make and consists of the following components:

- STM32F103C8T6 microcontroller
     - TL072 Operational amplifier IC
     - three Transistors BC847 or similar
     - power mosfet IRF740
     - 7805 Regulator
     - Rotary encoder
     - Buzzer
     - WS2812 led strip with 8 leds
     - resistors and capacitors