Blynk, NodeMCU and DHT-22

Setup a home temperature monitoring system on your phone within minutes! Literally just copy and paste!

Blynk, NodeMCU and DHT-22

Things used in this project

Hardware components

HARDWARE LIST
1 DFRobot DHT22 Temperature and Humidity Sensor
1 NodeMCU ESP8266 Breakout Board

Software apps and online services

Blynk

Arduino IDE

Story

As my first attempt to automate my electric heater, I have decided to develop a remote temperature monitoring system. This is the Part I of this project.

My background is mechanics and hydraulics so don't expect details on why do electrons flow opposite to the theoretical representation of current! :)

I will try to be as thorough as possible on my explanations.

Step One: First Things First

Install libraries:

Blynk

DHT-22

NodeMCU

Don't know how? Check the link below:

https://www.arduino.cc/en/guide/libraries

Visual guy? Get sleepy reading? Check this youtube video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5eakzVo5mY

Step Two: Setting Up for Sketch Upload

Set up as per Fritzing schematics.

Step Three: Creating Your Blynk App

Extracted of instructions from: http://docs.blynk.cc/

Getting Started With The Blynk App

1. Create a Blynk Account

After you download the Blynk App, you’ll need to create a New Blynk account. This account is separate from the accounts used for the Blynk Forums, in case you already have one.

We recommend using a real email address because it will simplify things later.

2. Create a New Project

After you’ve successfully logged into your account, start by creating a new project.

3. Choose Your Hardware

Select the hardware model you will use. Check out the list of supported hardware!

4. Auth Token